128 Sqn Crest RAF Air Cadets 128 Squadron

Aviation studies


Aviation studies is an integral part of being an Air Cadet, as we are sponsored by the Royal Air Force and form part of No.22 Training Group. Through the classifications syllabus, you will learn about aircraft and the basics of how they work. This knowledge will stand you in good stead, if you have aspirations to become a pilot!

Cadet Classifications

There are five different cadet classifications (or grades) that show what stage of training a cadet has completed. As you progress through the classification structure, the training becomes progressively more detailed and more specialised. It is designed to give you the necessary skills and knowledge, to be able to more fully take part in the other activities available to you. Training will vary between formal lessons, hands-on projects and outdoors activities. There will also be opportunities outside of the Squadron to obtain or develop valuable skills and knowledge.

First Class Cadet badgeFirst Class Cadet

When you start as a cadet, you will initially become a Junior Cadet. The initial part of your training will introduce you to the RAF Air Cadets, teach you basic foot drill and provide you with a uniform and guidance on how to care for it. Once you have covered the basics, you will enrolled and become a Second Class Cadet. From here you will begin your further classification training. Initially you will study a wide range of subjects, both theory and practical based as you study to become a First Class Cadet. This is the first classification you can obtain and should take around 4-6 months after you join. You will study a wide range of subjects, from the RAF to Initial Expedition Training, both in formal lessons and with hands on training. Completion of this training allows you to claim a BTEC Level 1 Certificate in Teamwork and Personal Skills and a BTEC Level 2 Certificate in Aviation Studies for Air Cadets.

Leading Cadet badgeLeading Cadet

The next stage in your training is to become a Leading Cadet. This involves learning basic navigation and map reading, understanding how an aircraft flies and stays in the air, being able to identify common aircraft and understand how an airfield works. Once you have completed the 3 assessments required you will become a leading cadet. Upon completion of your First Class and Leading training you will be eligible for a BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Aviation Studies for Air Cadets.

Senior Cadet badgeSenior Cadet

The next classification you study for is Senior Cadet. At this point, you will begin to narrow down the subjects that you take, but will study them in more detail. There are 12 subjects to choose from, of which only 3 will be studied. They include how a jet engine works, the theory behind rocket power, how planes and navigators navigate using the full range of instruments a plane offers, the principles of Radar and Radio, as well as the use of Air Power and the construction of planes. Once you have completed the 3 subjects, you will become a Senior Air Cadet.

Master Cadet

The next classification you study for is Master Cadet. Continuing from Senior, you will study a further 3 subjects, from the 12 available to you. Once you have completed the 3 assessments, you will become a Master Cadet. Again this should take about 1 year after you become a Senior Cadet. Upon completion of your Master Cadet training you will be eligible for a BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Aviation Studies for Air Cadets .

Instructor Cadet lanyardInstructor Cadet

The final part of your training is to obtain Instructor Cadet. This does not involve formal examinations, but does require attendance upon a Method of Instruction Course (MOI), followed by a consolidation period and assessment. This will qualify you to teach other cadets various aspects of the Air Cadet syllabus. Unlike the earlier classifications, you obtain a lanyard as opposed to a badge. This makes instructor cadets very distinct and shows they have completed the full level of academic training available to them.However it does not end there. Other lanyards are available for cadets who have completed further courses, training them in additional leadership and field craft skills (Junior Leaders Course), or aviation related disciplines (Aerospace Instructor Course). Also available, are various sports and adventure training courses, shooting courses, health and safety, media communications, radio, cyber defence, music and many more, all allowing you do develop yourself more.

Qualified Aerospace Instructor

The Qualified Aerospace Instructors Course (QAIC) is a training course for 16-20 year old, Master Cadets. Its graduates are uniquely qualified to operate the new equipment and programmes purchased for the Regional Activity Centres (RACs), the Air Cadet Engagement (ACE) platforms and the Air Operations Acquaintance Centre. It also provides cadets with an overview of many elements of Aerospace applications, both within the military and civilian areas. The course takes place over seven training weekends between September and the following Easter, during which time the cadets will complete a programme of formal training covering subjects as diverse as Air Traffic Control, Basic Flight Training, Air Power, Radio, Aerodynamics, Leadership, Presentation Skills and Group Work. Cadets are expected to attend every weekend, as well as working in between training periods, by preparing lectures and doing research on various subjects. As well as continual assessment during the training weekends, cadets will need to complete the final assessment at the end of the course. On completion of the course, graduates are awarded the QAI Lanyard to wear on their uniform and are authorised to deploy and run the ACE platform and assist at the various RAC’s around the country.

For more information please visit the dedicated website for QAIC- http://www.qaic.org/index.html